District 205 PTA Council awards 11 scholarships

District 205 PTA Council
(Photo provided by District 205)

ELMHURST – The District 205 PTA Council recently awarded $1,000 non-renewable academic scholarships to 11 deserving York Community High School Class of 2017 graduates for use at the college or university of their choice.

Receiving a scholarship were: Lauren Heslop, Abigail Gundrum, Samuel Jordan-Wood, Morgan Hennin, Amelia O’Halloran, Ailie Orzak, Jack Redick, Maria Perez, Amanda Shafer, Juliana Sonenberg and John Wheeler.

The students were recognized at York’s Scholarship Awards Night held April 18. PTA Council Scholarship fundraisers are the primary source of funding for these annual awards, namely the spring Fannie May candy sale, the Ladies Who Lunch event and, new this year, cooking demos at Cafe Amano.

Megan Winton and Kari Levine served as co-chairs of the PTA Council Scholarship Committee, assisted by a PTA Council Scholarship Committee representative at each District 205 school, who helped promote the fundraising events.

“Each of these students possess intelligence, ingenuity and initiative. n their scholarship application essays, they spoke of heart-warming successes, heart-breaking failures, kindness imparted, hardships endured, rewarding community outreach work and the value of volunteerism. They shared their personal stories of self-discovery and their dreams for the future,” said Ms. Levine.

The YCHS Class of 2017 was offered over $2 million in scholarships from a variety of sources, including merit-based scholarships and from local foundations and organizations such as the PTA Council.